Na-cho Post! Sweet Apple “Nachos”

Today (I’m still calling it today since I haven’t gone to bed yet) was a pretty great day.  Obama won!  And he called Joe Biden a “happy warrior” which made me giggle.  I could end the post there, but wait, there’s more!  In the morning I canvassed for Marriage Equality with my best friend and got really positive responses from voters.  I got a free taco at California Tortilla because I voted – om nom nom.  (California Tortilla is an awesome burrito place, they’re quirky and fun and they correctly predicted Obama’s win – I dare you to argue with their prediction methods).  Lastly, I went to two free yoga classes in a row. I’m feeling joyous and flexible and full of life. One of the classes was Dahn yoga which I had not tried before. It was this crazy energy based kriya yoga.  Super silly, but also wonderful.  You should give it a try if there’s a studio in your area.

I like Yoga

But it wasn’t just election day.  It was also National Nacho Day!  Post taco, I felt the need for some nachos and headed to the kitchen.  My best friend suggested that I make sweet nachos and claimed she had a recipe, but then we couldn’t find it.  Googling “Sweet Nachos” didn’t yield anything too interesting, so I settled on making lazy churros and adding fried apples (we are swimming in apples, I’m trying to find ways to add them to everything). 

These are easy and fun to make, although my most fun moment is unlikely to be duplicated in your kitchen.  I mentioned my love of the tiny whisk in the picture above, and my best friend started serenading me with a whisk song.  She’s silly.  In the end, they aren’t terribly nacho-like, but I’m still going to call them that, if only so I can use the Nacho joke.

These need to be eaten the instant they’re done, fried foods just don’t keep well.

Melon ballers are a great way to core apples; more reliable and less messy than the various apple corers out there.

If you have any leftover honey butter, let it cool and then whisk it to re-combine.  It’s tasty on toast!

Ingredients:

8 small flour tortillas
2 medium, crisp apples

Apple Batter
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup flour
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
Pinch salt

Honey Butter Sauce
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup honey
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Oil for frying (I used plain vegetable oil)

Powdered sugar and dulce de leche (optional)

Directions

Cut each tortilla into eight wedges, set aside.

Core the apples and slice into thin wedges – really thin.  (I counted the slices, I cut one apple into 29 pieces).  They aren’t going to fry long, so you want them to be small enough to get thoroughly warm.

Begin heating the oil in a shallow pan over medium heat.

Combine the flour, milk, egg, baking powder and salt in a wide, shallow bowl.  Add the apple slices (in batches if needed) and toss to coat.

Melt the butter (I actually made it into brown butter, what can I say, I love browned butter) and add the honey and cinnamon.  Transfer to a container with a spout so you can easily pour it over the nachos.

Once the oil is hot (test it by tossing in scraps of tortilla – if it sizzles it’s hot), begin frying the tortilla wedges in batches until they puff up and brown slightly.  Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels.

Fry the apples (you can, and should, let them get browner than the tortillas).  Be sure to flip them so that they brown evenly.  Drain on paper towels.

Pile everything on a plate, and pour the honey-butter over the nachos.  If you want, drizzle with dulce de leche and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Serves 6-8

Leave a Reply

